Day 32 Ruth – Ruth 1

32 ruth

But Ruth said, “Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried.

When Ruth makes this pledge to Naomi she really does cover every possibility. “I will go with you, live with you, claim your people, follow your God, die with you and be buried with you.” She covered her life from that present moment until the end of her time on earth. She basically cut all ties with her past and never planned to look back – even to have her body returned to Moab after death – not even that connection.

I am just impressed by her complete and unwavering devotion.

It reminds me of these lyrics and in solidarity with Ruth, I want to claim them for myself.

I have decided to follow Jesus
I have decided to follow Jesus
I have decided to follow Jesus
No turning back, no turning back.

Your thoughts?

