Day 33 Ruth – Ruth 2

33 Ruth

“The Lord repay you for what you have done, and a full reward be given you by the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge!”

There are a ton of needs going on all around me. Some I can fix, some I can help, some are way beyond my reach. I’m feeling the weight of the pile and it doesn’t help that I’m in a physical “energy slump”.

In Just Courage, Gary Haugen’s offers to the reader the same call he received from the Lord:

Follow me beyond what you can control, beyond where your own strength and competencies can take you, and beyond what is affirmed or risked by the crowd – and you will experience me and my power and my wisdom and my love.”

He also quotes Mother Teresa who, in essence says, she could not imagine doing her work for more than thirty minutes without prayer. Then his question isDo you and I have work that we can’t imagine doing for thirty minutes without prayer?”

And then, of course, here is Boaz speaking to Ruth – it is under the wings of the Lord, the God of Israel that you have come to take refuge.

Without a doubt God is saying to my heart: “Take your refuge in Me, and then do your work.”

Right now I am setting my alarm for every 30 minutes. The work is beyond me but not beyond God. And I know God is full of mercy and ready to rescue those in need. He might use my prayers or my resources but what will be evident is His power, His wisdom and His love.

Your thoughts?

