Day 39 Esther – Esther 7-8

39 Esther

And many from the peoples of the country declared themselves Jews, for fear of the Jews had fallen on them.***

Esther and Mordecai’s bravery have interceded in the deadly plan Haman had begun. They could not directly stop it because “…for an edict written in the name of the king and sealed with the king’s ring cannot be revoked.” Instead Mordecai’s letters provided a way of escape.

In this world, sin has consequences – like tipping the first domino evil thoughts lead to evil actions and gravity demands each, stuck in its place, will fall. Mordecai’s letter gave the Jews permission to move out of the path. The new kingly decree provided a rescue. It was not an easy rescue – they would have to fight back against evil but the king was on their side. And in this knowledge the people found joy and gladness.

Clearly God’s people had been living in fear – so much so that they had not outwardly lived their relationship with God. But now, seeing the power of God on their behalf, many have been set free.

Faith leading to action saved lives and set the captives free. That combination is exactly the same today. Living in my own personal safety does just the opposite.

Lord, forgive me for the times I have let my fear keep me captive and paralyzed. Even today give me a swashbuckling faith that rides on swift horses because there is no time to lose. “To the King! To the Restoration!”

***You know, I think I miss read the verse I quoted at the top.. Maybe it meant the people who were not Jews began to claim to be Jews in order not to be targets. But, you know what? I think the lesson God gave me might still stand – in spite of my proof text error.

I hope it’s not confusing to anyone.

Your thoughts?

