Day 8 Advent – Peace – James 5:7-11

8 peaceYou also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand. Do not grumble against one another, brothers, so that you may not be judged; behold, the Judge is standing at the door.

James reminds me that the Lord’s coming is near. Maybe not near by my standards but He will come as a thief in the night at a time that no one knows. I am to be patient in waiting. I am to establish my heart. I am to not grumble against my brother because the Judge is at the door and I will be judged for that grumbling.

I’m a grumbler – there I admit it. In fact, I am not the kind of grumbler who fumes and suffers in silence. I come right out and tell. It’s rarely a secret. So that “do not grumble thought” is not something I really want to think about. I’d rather kinda blow that off because I’m under the blood and all that.

So what might that mean if not “grumble and you will be judged for grumbling”?

I’m afraid I have no to reason to think it means anything except what it says. Matthew 7 repeats the idea:  “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”  I don’t think it’s wise to just give myself a free ride on this.

I don’t have much choice when it comes to waiting for the Lord’s return but I can be hopeful that the waiting is going to require some patience. To me that says there is still time. There is still time for me to establish, or as the NASV says, strengthen my heart. The Greek is sterizo – fix firmly, direct myself towards. There is time for me to willingly direct my heart toward my coming Savior.

The hope and peace for me is this. In that establishing, by the work of the Holy Spirit, I’ll become more and more willing to be less of a grumbler.

Today Lord, I looked again in the mirror of Your Word and found something not too pleasant.  Help me be a doer and not a forgetter.

Your thoughts?

