Day 12 Advent Joy – Psalm 40:16

12 joyI guess if you read today’s picture it summarizes why my thoughts today are about JOY:

As for me, I am poor and needy,  but the Lord takes thought for me. You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, O my God!

“Grandma’s pushin’ the BBQ!”

That’s the term we use when there are lots of left-overs of one thing and I’m trying to get someone – anyone – to eat them so I don’t have to throw them out. Left-overs are not a big thing at my house much anymore. However I feel like I’ve been pushin’ something else this last week or so – “humility.”

Someone dear to me has stopped by on a few different days because they needed to “talk”. They are looking to make some big decisions in the direction of their life. They seem motivated but the choices are hard and long range. There is a lot of fear. You know you actually have to let go of the past in order to grab the future? It’s like hand over hand on the monkey bars of life (I might have once said “latter” but monkey bars seem so much more like reality.) You cannot move forward without letting go of somethings that, right now, you are afraid to lose. It’s hard.

I know because I’ve been there – and if you haven’t, then as Jen Hatmaker says “just live longer”. This life is filled with choices that aren’t easy or painless. What I’ve found is that a lot of that pain comes because we don’t have anyone who can offer us a guarantee. A guarantee that things will actually become what we hope for.

That is the crazy thing about knowing Jesus. He is the great guarantor. Oh, not necessarily in the little trivia of leaving Florida for Cali but in the big giant important things like help, deliverance, a future and a hope. We don’t have the answers but He does and if you want answers you’ve got to ask the answer-er.

So that’s where pushin’ humility comes in. Until we can see that our control of our own life is already proving to be not that great, we clutch our own understanding with both fists. This passing of the power from ourselves to someone we believe we can trust is essential. A.A. sums it up in the first three steps:

  1. We admit we are powerless over… and our life has become unmanageable.
  2. We have come to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.
  3. We make a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God, as we understand Him.

David puts it this way:

As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me. You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, O my God!

Your thoughts?

