Day 19 Advent Love – Luke 1:26-38, 2:1-7; Matthew 1:18.25

19 love“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.”

When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him…

Mary saw an angel. Joseph heard God’s instructions from an angel in a dream. They both welcomed the news and without delay embraced God’s plan for their lives. Pretty amazing earthly parents God chose to care for Jesus!

I think I would have asked 20 questions…but maybe not. I say maybe not because it is clear they each recognized God’s voice in the messages brought to them. They weren’t expecting angels or longing for a word from God, they were just doing their everyday stuff…going on with their lives. But when God spoke they knew it. They knew it was something different from anything they had ever experienced. So they followed His words. They welcomed His words – then and every day forward.

Mary and Joseph were set on a mission that would encompass their whole lives but they didn’t stop to figure it out. They were called. They followed.

“Lord, give me ears to know your voice. Give me a heart and mind that will respond with the same certainty of Mary and Joseph. I am just going on about my life here but if You show up and have something to tell me, I pray all my world will stop while I listen. And Lord, wherever those words take me, let me honor You with my obedience. Amen.”

Your thoughts?

