Day 2 – Jesus: I AM -John 1:19-23

02 I AMRoad sign or Roadblock

“I am not the Christ.”… “I am the voice of one crying out in the wilderness, ‘Make straight the way of the Lord,’ as the prophet Isaiah said.”

Here’s the big difference between me and God. God never thinks He is me.

Unfortunately there are days when “life” happens at such a pace…like right now… that I feel compelled to answer every question, tackle every need, solve every problem, comfort every sorrow, dispense wisdom to every struggler, pay every cash emergency and… Whatever can be dispatched with the least effort because there are so many things that require actual thinking!

The truth is these are my people. These are the ones God has placed in my life. I’m generally not resentful or looking to escape. The problem is not them. When I feel like I’m sinking in the mire of all that keeps coming and think I will collapse under the weight, I know what has happened. I’ve traded places with God….again. 🙂

Jesus said, “Take my yoke upon you and learn of me…for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

If the burden is heavy, well… the answer is “I am not the Christ.”

It is a welcomed acknowledgement and relief to my soul. Moreover, when I have that part clearly in mind my real mission becomes clearer too. I am not the Christ… I am one pointing the way to him.

And here is my message: If He is my rescuer, then He can be trusted to be yours. If he sustains my life, He can be trusted to sustain yours. If I am weak and He is strong for me, then He can be trusted to do the same for you.

Your thoughts?

