Day 9 – Jesus I AM – Matthew 26:17-28

09 I AM“Truly, I say to you, one of you will betray me.”

Why did Jesus tell his disciples, all gathered for the Passover meal, that one of them would betray him? It was a comment that made them sorrowful. It must have been terrifying to hear the fate of a betrayer. “Is it I, Lord?” went around the table as each one asked Him, like they might become an unwitting culprit. While Jesus’ statement was to them all, only one reply is recorded. Only to Judas did he affirm what they both already knew.

With the confusing cloud of betrayal lingering in their minds, Jesus serves the first Communion.

“Take, eat; this is my body.” And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, saying, “Drink of it, all of you, for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.”

First the disease and then the remedy –

This is the very harsh truth. Somewhere along the line – some many “wheres” along the line – I will betray Him. The incidents of my sins may be unplanned or accidental or with an act of my own deliberate choosing. But Jesus and I, we both know.

And truly, I pray for the gift of sorrow – because it will guide me back. It will remind with no uncertainty that Jesus loves me anyway – just as he loved the disciples…just as he loved, in advance, “the many.”

“Here Lord is my betrayal.” 

“Here Child is my forgiveness.”

 

Your thoughts?

