Day 12 – Jesus I AM – Genesis 3:8-19

12 I AMThe Lord God said to the serpent, I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her offspring; he shall bruise your head, and you shall bruise his heel.”

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life.

Calling original sin “the fall” is a euphemism for “by these actions you have just doomed the entire human race to be separated from God.”

Falling off a cliff to your bone smashing death is all I can think of. But in that very moment of free-fall, when arms are flailing and there is nothing to grab, Jesus intervenes.

It is not a rescue without pain – He will be bruised. He will suffer the impact of landing on a wooden beam and His wounds will bleed. He will lapse into the coma of death but He will overcome it. And when He stands He will step squarely and crushingly on the head of our adversary.

Our rescue is made complete. Resurrection for all time.

Unfortunately, like Martha, I’m inclined to see my rescue as theology instead of a daily reality. I regularly find myself in the tug of war between the flesh and the Spirit.

So, I remind myself of these things:

If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you. Romans 8: 11 

When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, John 16:13

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. John 15:16

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. John 15:7

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. Romans 8:5

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. Romans 15:13

Your thoughts?

