Day 13 – Jesus I AM – Ezekiel 37:1-14

13 I AM“I will put my Spirit within you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land. Then you shall know that I am the Lord; I have spoken, and I will do it, declares the Lord.”

Someone prophesied over me once. Their words came from Jeremiah. While I remember the significance of that moment in my life, I haven’t actually looked at those words for a long time.

The word of the Lord came to me, saying,

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

“Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.”

But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

As I reread them this morning I feel the Holy Spirit’s quickening and again I have no doubt this is the Lord speaking straight to me.

The first time these words addressed particular fears in me. I was afraid I would not know how to speak what He was asking of me. I was afraid to believe He knew me so well and yet still was calling me to be His own. I was afraid I would get it wrong. I was afraid people would mock. And though my Giving Key says, “FEARLESS”, I’m not so sure that these fears don’t still pop up even now – 30+ years later.

By accepting the prophecy I did not think God had anointed me for some special ministry or that I would somehow become famous. I simply – though it did not seem so simple at the time – prayed out loud the words the Holy Spirit gave me.

I guess, in retrospect I believed Ezekiel’s words to Israel:

I will put my Spirit within you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land. Then you shall know that I am the Lord; I have spoken, and I will do it, declares the Lord.”

It is clear to me that the words from the LORD to Jeremiah are not just his – nor are they just mine. They are the promise to anyone in whom the Spirit dwells.

“I know all about you but I chose you to be my own. I set you apart to be a prophet in your own land – to your own little nation. Do not believe you are too young or too old or unqualified. You should go and speak the words I give you. I will be with you. I have put my Spirit within you and you will know what it is to really live.”

Your thoughts?

