Day 14 – Jesus I AM – John 19:10-30

14 I AMSo Pilate said to him, “You will not speak to me? Do you not know that I have authority to release you and authority to crucify you?”

Ellicott’s Commentary rephrases: “Thy life is in my power; yea, and Thy death also.”

While Pilate’s authority and even ability to hold Jesus was allowed him by God, his mistaken words echoed the Father of Lies. It is the Enemy who wants us to believe he is the powerful one.

He is relentless in his proclamations. And especially, when pain and suffering can be avoided, there is the temptation to buy his claims and follow the blinking signs to our own ruin. Do not be fooled. He just cannot deliver what he does not have.

Interestingly, the One to whom Pilate speaks, does hold that power. “I am the Living One; I was dead, and now look, I am alive for ever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and Hades.” Rev. 1:18

Knowing those He loved were helpless and only He alone could offer them Life, He embraced suffering until He could speak these words: “It is finished!”

 

One thought on “Day 14 – Jesus I AM – John 19:10-30

Your thoughts?

