Day 16– Jesus I AM – John 8:12 & 1 Peter 2:9

16 I AMAgain Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. 1 Peter 2:9

So today I feel in the dark. It’s not a dreadful darkness or a horribly bad place; it’s more like a place of foggy confusion. It’s like things are not tied down and even if I grab a floating chair I don’t know where to reattach it.

I’ve been reading lately about the apostle Paul and his view of walking in the Spirit. Paul experienced the leading of the Holy Spirit and His miracle presence daily. The Holy Spirit was the evidence of his own redemption and the proof that others were hearing the Gospel and joining God’s family.

It was this tangible and visible experience that made the church different from everyone else. So Paul and his people did not shy from the Holy Spirit’s supernatural power that gave them the ability to live a heavenly life now. I can’t even imagine how amazing it would have been to be living then.

Paul also lived in weakness. I don’t mean he was weak because of a struggle between the flesh and the Spirit. There was no longer any contest there. That was the condition of his former life where he willed himself to follow the Law. No, this was weakness that came with the frailty of being a broken human living in a broken world. There were/are limitations just because this is “the now but not yet.”

So how did Paul deal with his weaknesses? He boasted about them.

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Cor. 12:9-10

So today:

“Lord, thank you for today’s confusion. Thank you for the Holy Spirit’s power at work in me. You are Light and darkness is not a problem for You. I can proclaim Your ways are excellent –even from within the fog. Amen.”

Your thoughts?

