Day 19 – Jesus I AM- Matthew 5:14-16

19 I AM“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”

I didn’t go out thinking “be a light” –it was just dinner and book club with a gathering of friends.

They are great people – fun, raucous at times, educated, intelligent, good parents, caring, volunteers – just great women. They run circles around me in a 100 different ways – basically, I got nothing on them. Of this gathering maybe one other person is a believer. It’s a secular group though many of these women go to various churches and post spiritual and uplifting things on Facebook. None of them are shy. In fact sometimes I might be more comfortable if they were a tiny bit more reserved on some topics. But they are not.

One of the gals was missing – the other believer- “S”. (Come to think of it she is the quietist of the bunch.) It was the first anniversary of her teenage son’s tragic death in an auto accident. Everyone was genuinely sympathetic as they spoke about it but the buzz never waned – one voice over another, like we were on some limited schedule to get everything told.

Then the leader spoke up to get us started and said the most unexpected thing. “I think we should say a prayer for “S”.” And then she asked me to pray. When I agreed, they spontaneously all held hands. The room got quiet and I prayed.

This was my question: why, of all the competent women in the room, did she ask me to pray? For the most part these people know very little of my personal life. I met most through PTA.

Here’s all I can figure. Jesus said “You are the light of the world, a city set on a hill that cannot be hidden.”

We are the light because Jesus is the Light.  If you don’t hide out from the world, He shines.

Your thoughts?

