Then What? Days 1-3

Day 1

Matthew 28:19-20
Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Day 2

Hebrews 3:13
But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.

1 Thessalonians 5:14
And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all.

Day 3

Hebrews 10:24-25
And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.

Thoughts on Then What?

As one who desires the community found in the Body of Christ, I have long loved these verses. I have had and continue to desire a place to live these out. It turns out these opportunities have significantly dwindled in this season of my life. I am trying to adjust – find my new footing. I know God is at work.

In years of ministry, God has always spoken to me in a particular way. Not anything that makes me “special” or something like that. It’s just that when I know God is directing me it seems to come in patterns that I recognize. It is likely He is accommodating my human limitations (which He knows all too well.) I see patterns – or I should say – when I see patterns – I feel more confident about the message.

Here is my latest pattern: I am comfortable in my beliefs. God brings up a topic that is unsettling. I am forced to re-examine.

Generally I am not looking for some personal study that suddenly consumes my thinking and my free time. But I can’t seem to live with the uncertainty that has thrown off my equilibrium. Once I get over the irritation for having to be in this mess, God begins. There is finger-pointing, forgiveness, reminding, exhorting, patience, encouragement and Presence.

For now, I am not the disciple maker. I am the disciple.

Your thoughts?

