Week 5 Day 3 I Believe the Holy Spirit is Lord

 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.  And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit. ~ 2 Corinthians 3:17-18 (ESV)

God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.  ~John 4:24 ESV

As I read today’s verses, John 4:24 came to mind. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth. These were Jesus’ words to the woman at the well. It seems to imply one-more evidence of how inter-related and cross-related are the persons of the Triune God. The idea or concept of spirit encompasses all of God.

Of course in 2 Cor. 3:17 Paul affirms “the Lord is the Spirit” less we misunderstand that any one of the persons of the Trinity somehow falls short of actually being GOD. And I love what Paul is telling me in the balance of this verse. As I behold the glory of the Lord, I am being transformed into His image…one degree of glory at a time. This transformation is attributed to the work of the Holy Spirit.

When Moses asked God to “show me your glory” God had him hide in the cleft of the rock and God himself shielded Moses with his hand, lest Moses would be killed. Now I can stand beholding God’s glory and allowing the Spirit to do His work without fear. In fact with anticipation!

So today, let me be as bold as Moses. “Lord, show me your glory.”

Your thoughts?

